Mindfulness is where’s it at, yo

Bitches need to be eating more fruits and vegatabelas. Pat Dixon

I don’t know if Pat meant to misspell that or not, but it doesn’t matter. I like the quote. It’s totes apprope for this post. Yea, I just typed “totes apprope”…WTF you gonna do about it, huh? That’s what I thought.

I’ve been slacking BAD since the holidays. I’ve barely run, can’t remember the last time I did a  push up and since I take my pull up bar down in fear of it developing a brain and trying to take me out by falling on my head when I walk underneath it, I haven’t been practicing those either. I’m paying for that. I feel like shit most of the time and my headaches are back in full force.

I have, however, been conscious of what I’m eating. I was horrified to see I had gained back about 6 pounds during the holidays and the 2 weeks after. So I started being mindful. It makes such a difference, people. I re-lost those 6 pounds by watching what I ate. Went back to quinoa, spinach salads with lean turkey breast, coconut water and as many fruits and veggies as I can get my hands on. And in case you’re wondering, eating those things is in no way a sacrifice for me. I love those foods! I can only imagine how awful I would feel if I was only eating shitty food. Which I’m still doing. Don’t be ridiculous. I have a family and very little extra time on my hands lately, so there’s plenty of craptastic food being eaten. 😉 My point is that by eating MORE of the good stuff, the bad stuff isn’t taking me completely out of the game.

I have a friend who is working her tushie off to lose some weight and improve her general fitness. I doubt I’ll ever convince her to completely lose her mind and get into triathlon, but that’s fine. She’s an awesome lady, and I want to give her all the support I can! Last time I saw her, we talked about stress eating. I told her to stop eating her feelings. She gave me the weirdest look and then chuckled. J I told her that’s one of the things I’ve learned over the last 8 or 9 months. Pay attention to why I’m eating. BE MINDFUL. Enough emphasis can’t be put on that!

I love you Sheryl! 😉

I’ve given myself til March 1st to get it together. Going to school full time has taken more adjusting than I thought it would. I totally underestimated the impact it would have on my whole life. But I’m getting the hang of it.

Yes, those are pictures of stuff I’ve eaten over the past few weeks. Weird? Maybe. But I like to share. Sometimes.

Leave a Reply

