Livestrong 5K to Benefit LAF

Thursday and Friday in SWMO were splendiferously beautiful. Sunny skies, mild to warm temps. Wonderful weather!! Friday was the last day of classes before spring break and the first official day of spring was Saturday, so what could possibly screw this week up? Um, I believe we call it Mother Nature.

I signed up for this 5K to get back in the swing. I’ve been pretty lazy over the last few months and was ready to start working on myself again. PLUS, it’s for a good cause, duh. I was excited to race again! The Husband was signed up too for pretty much the same reasons.

But wouldn’t you know it, the weather turned craptastic and by the time we got up to go, the windchill was 25 and it was raining. Sheesh! So bundled up and headed out.

A couple of minutes after we left, The Husband’s phone ding-dinged. It was the teenager. The power was out. Turns out, kids aren’t too keen on staying home by themselves if there’s no power. Imagine that. So we turned the truck around and went to rescue them. Not knowing what was up or why the power went out, The Husband sacrificed his racing dreams to stay home with the boys and I left by myself.

I got there, got my packet, put on my number and chip and went looking for a bathroom. The start was at Ridge Runner Sports and there was a bathroom inside. The line wasn’t awful, but it did cut into warming up and getting used to the cold. It wasn’t until I was only 2nd from the front that they came and told us there were 2 porta-johns out back. Oh swells.

There’s really not a lot to tell about this race. I liked it, there weren’t many people, and it was pretty stinkin’ cold. And wet. The course was an out and back with some slight inclines (I won’t call them hills). I had trouble on the way back when the wind was in my face because it was coooooold and that seems to kick in my dormant asthma. Boo. Otherwise it was fine.

Time: 00:38:32  Not my fastest, not my slowest. Definitely better than my 3 miles on the treadmill 3 days earlier! 😉
Now we have baselines for my run and bike… Just gotta get my ass to the pool….

Leave a Reply

