I’m Not Dead

“I’m not dead, just changing…” ~ Pink

What’s up, y’all? It’s been a minute, huh? Yea. Well, things have been willy-nilly topsy-turvy around here. I’m just now feeling like I have my feet underneath me again.

I finished out the semester in the beginning of May with good grades (The Husband calls me an over achiever) and the realization that I now had no excuses for not making a major life change most rickey-tick (‘Jarhead’ is one of my favorite movies; guns+Jake Gyllenhaal=TOTAL poooooooorn *puuuuurrrrrrrrrr*).

I Quit. My. J-O-B. After 3 years, I said, “Fuck it. I’m done.”

Don’t worry. I’m not done rubbing nekkid people. If you know me at all, you know that I love, Love, LOVE being a massage therapist. But the joy was gone. What’s that The Eagles say?

“Time passes and you must move on. Half the distance takes you twice as long…”

They are wise. It was time to move on. After 3 years, making puny money (it was so puny it was like I was paying to work there), my passion was just kaput. I was miserable. After repeated attempts to provoke POSITIVE change, the constant desire to slit my wrists every time the “spa” called or I had to go to work, I realized I’d better find something new.

“Something new” found ME instead. I’m now working in a new place that I lovingly describe (while sporting a HUGE fucking smile) as “just a room” (again, if you know me you’ll understand the importance of the simplicity) with a funny, crazy (“craziness is heaven”), POSITIVE (gee, you think that word is important to me?), Jesus-hair-having-heathen of a Leo. And guess what? I’m freaking happy as the proverbial kid in a candy-store. I had NO idea how far the negativity had creeped into my life. I thought it was just work related. Sadly, it affected how I viewed EVERYthing. School, home, LIFE in general!

I am now much more relaxed. And working on shifting my focus. To my new venture and to my upcoming FIRST triathlon. HOLY SHIT! It’s exactly 2 months away. I’m nowhere near ready. But I’m working on that. I’ll do my best to keep this updated. I’ve thought about following Tameeka’s example of a photo-a-day to keep me motivated. We’ll see how it goes. Heh.

Hey, in the mean time, go over to Ironman Bobby’s site and watch his last two video podcasts (if ya haven’t already).

2 comments
  1. niceeee

  2. -phil said:

    awesome. best of luck to ya. always the right decision to remain sane. 😉

Leave a Reply

