A “Fish” in water

“No matter how hard the past, you can always begin again.” ~ Buddha

Had a swimming lesson yesterday and guess what? I TOTALLY DIDN’T DROWN!!! That may sound silly to you, but that’s the most time I’ve ever spent in the water ACTUALLY swimming. Of course, there were small breaks while she explained what she wanted me to do. Or when I couldn’t hardly breathe. Ha! But I did it. AND… I’m not even bad at it!!! Woohoo! I’m not as bad as I thought I was. Here’s what I learned:

1) I’d better work on my breathing BIG time. I understand the concept of how and when. It’s just a matter of doing it correctly. I was already improving by the end of the lesson.
2) If you look at the bottom of the pool, your body will level out. Meaning your ass won’t pull you down.
3) I don’t totally suck. Which makes sense because I’m a Pisces. A fish, DUH.
4) I got this.

My run today was bullshit. I don’t know what the hell happened, but my legs totally betrayed me today. My run started out just fine. I even scared a couple of cows!!!! (Not sure what that was about, but they took off in the other direction)  The pain started in my left anterior tib. Then my right gastroc and soleus joined in. By 1.5 miles I was walking. It hurt. I tried to run a couple of times, but it was tragic. I can only imagine what I looked like. My feet felt like they were going to stop holding me up any second. At mile 2, my left hammy said, “Hey, I want in on this, too!” By the time I creeped up the driveway and through the garage I wanted to scream. In ANGER, asshole. I’m no wuss. But I relaxed, logged it in Buckeye as “run fail” and proceeded to email my Jockstrap about the run. Hopefully, it didn’t come off as whining.

My bike in the afternoon was better. It was slightly off pace because I managed to find some hella hills that kicked my arse!!! I only had to walk up one. Actually, it was like 1/2 of one. Whatever. I’ll keep at it. I was kind of tired (I’ve been eating like shit and barely sleeping) so I kept trying to channel Peej and hearing Bobbert say “Suffer for it!”. Word and Word.

So tomorrow, I have a client and then I’m off to the pool to get in touch with my inner fish.

Figured if I was going to walk, I may as well take a picture...


Leave a Reply

